Tag Archives: fun read

Month of Reviews Day 9 – Perfectly Norman.

9781408880982

Title: Perfectly Norman
Author & Illustrator: Tom Percival
Publisher: Bloomsbury
mini obc about the book1
Norman had always been perfectly normal. That was until the day he
grew a pair of wings!
Norman is very surprised to have wings suddenly – and he has the most
fun ever trying them out high in the sky. But then he has to go in for
dinner. What will his parents think? What will everyone else think?
Norman feels the safest plan is to cover his wings with a big coat.
But hiding the thing that makes you different proves tricky and upsetting.
Can Norman ever truly be himself?
A poignant yet uplifting story about individuality, with stunning artwork
in a striking minimal palette from the author/illustrator of Herman’s
Letter. Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Benj Davies will love it.
add-to-goodreads-button3
amazon_logo_RGB
mini obc about the author1
Tom Percival writes and illustrates picture books and has also produced
covers and internal illustrations for the Skulduggery Pleasant series. Tom
has written and illustrated three books for Bloomsbury: HERMAN’S
LETTER, BUBBLE TROUBLE and the forthcoming HERMAN’S HOLIDAY.
He grew up in a remote and beautiful part of South Shropshire. He now
lives in a far more conventional building (a house), with his girlfriend and
their young sons.
9780747582205
Website: http://tompercival.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/TomPercivalsays
mini obc lily1
First off, can we just say how brilliantly bright, colourful and spangly this cover is!!
Just look at it!

 

This story is the sweetest book ever!  A story about teaching children to be themselves, be who they are and not mingle into the crowd….. Because being you is the very best thing. 

Norman isn’t happy until he grows his beautiful wings but then is frightened about people will say, on these pages the illustrations are coloured grey and look sad, an amazing job by Tom. It made those parts of the story sad a gloomy but once Norman has his wings on show all the colours come out and the story starts to bloom. Everyone in the world need to have their wings on show!

 Lily-May loved to see Norman flying in the book, she then ran around the room with her arms stretched out pretending to fly! Its safe to say that she loved the book, we read it umpteen times before bed for the last few nights and probably for the next few nights to come. 

We cant wait to see what Tom throws at us next, you’ve set the bar high for the next book and cover…….no pressure!!

5 thumbs

Be sure to check out the rest of the book tour and see what the other bloggers thought to Perfectly Norman.

Perfectly Norman Banner.png

Month of Reviews Day 1 – Stone Underpants – Maverick Books

So as the summer holidays hit we thought it would be fun to do a month of reviews, a different book review for the 31 days of August…… is it possible? Lets find out!

Kicking off Day 1 is Stone Underpants

book1

Written by Rebecca Lisle

Illustrated by Richard Watson

Published with Maverick Books.

mini obc lily

This book is guaranteed to have the kids…… and adults giggling the whole way through! The story is about Pod, a cave boy how hates his stone underpants, and who can blame him?!

He spends the story creating different pants made out of different things, my personal favourite were the mud pants! Each pants are put through Pod’s tests to find out which are the best. 

20170418_151037.jpg

This story has become a family favourite in our house. Lily-May enjoys pointing out the different animals in the book and i expect a giggle or two every time i say bottom.

20170418_195142.jpg

Its a fun read with beautiful illustrations, its also bright and colourful which keeps Lily-May’s concentration (always a bonus in my book!)

5 thumbs

If Maverick books are new to you then i highly recommend you checking out their website, they have something for every age range,

Picture Books,

Early Readers,

Junior Fiction,

Activity Books and Board Books

As well as some amazing series!! (click photo)

New-CB-Logo11

A Maverick round up post can also be found on our parenting blog (click photo)

ablogslife2