Monthly Archives: September 2017

Review – Fire Lines by Cara Thurlbourn

Fire Lines-R3-FRONT.jpg

Fire Lines by Cara Thurlbourn

mini obc about the book1

When your blood line awakens, how do you choose between family and freedom?

Émi’s father used to weave beautiful tales of life beyond the wall, but she never knew if they were true. Now, her father is gone and Émi has been banished to the Red Quarter, where she toils to support herself and her mother – obeying the rules, hiding secrets and suffering the cruelties of the council’s ruthless Cadets.

But when Émi turns seventeen, sparks fly – literally. Her blood line surges into life and she realises she has a talent for magick… a talent that could get her killed.

Émi makes her escape, beyond the wall and away from everything she’s ever known. In a world of watchers, elephant riders and sorcery, she must discover the truth about who she really is. But can the new Émi live up to her destiny?

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35581157-fire-lines?from_search=true

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Fire-Lines-Cara-Thurlbourn-ebook/dp/B075FTR12K/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1505480503&sr=8-13&keywords=fire+lines

mini obc about the author1

DSC05392 (1)

Cara Thurlbourn writes children’s and young adult fiction. ‘Fire Lines’ is her first novel and it’s a story she’s been planning since she was fifteen years old.

Cara has a degree in English from the University of Nottingham and an MA in Publishing from Oxford Brookes University.

She lives in a tiny village in Suffolk and has worked in academic and educational publishing for nearly ten years. Cara blogs about her author journey and in November 2016 she crowdfunded her first children’s book. 10% of its profits are donated to animal rehoming charities.

Cara plans to write at least two more books in the Fire Lines series, as well as a young adult mystery series, and has lots more children’s stories waiting in the wings.

You can sign up for Cara’s newsletter, for giveaways, updates and latest releases, here: http://www.firelines.co.uk

mini obc amy2

This is a new to me author so when I was asked to join in the blog tour I did so as we had a review gap and I’m sooo glad I said Yes! It seems that my reading trend has taken a turn and I’m suddenly drawn to the books that hold magic, action and adventure….. and Cara’s book definitely ticked all those boxes for me.

I loved the whole situation about Émi having to hide her magic (i didn’t like how quickly she trusted some people) and how differently each quarter was treated depending on what colour sash they wore on their arm, would have liked a bit more background on that. I enjoyed the darkness about the four cities, it left you guessing how much was actually true and how much was twisted and added to.

For me this book had everything and I highly anticipate book 2 hitting my shelf!!

Actual rating – 3.5

3.5 thumbs

Follow the other awesome book bloggers on Cara’s book tour 😀

Fire Lines Banner1

Advertisements

Review & Giveaway – Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren.

Prisoner of Ice and Snow.jpg

Title: Prisoner of Ice and Snow (Prisoner of Ice and Snow #1)
Author: Ruth Lauren

Release Date: 7th September 2017

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35382914-prisoner-of-ice-and-snow

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1408872757

mini obc about the book1

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.

But that’s exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.

No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison …

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

mini obc about the author

Ruth Lauren.png

Ruth Lauren lives in the West Midlands in England with her family and a lot of cats. She likes chocolate, walking in the woods, cheese, orchids, going to the movies, and reading as many books as she can. She’s been a teacher and worked in lots of different offices, but she likes writing best. Prisoner of Ice and Snow is her debut novel.

Website: https://www.ruthlauren.com/

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ruth__lauren

Instagram: www.instagram.com/ruth_lauren

mini obc amy1

A brilliant and touching story about a wonderful sisterly bond that goes above and beyond! This story had me hooked on the very first page, action packed with plenty of life lessons to be learnt for all the characters on some level. 

The author had a great way of describing details in the story that made it easy to imagine what was happening, I felt many chills from the book (maybe that was the Ice) I definitely don’t want to be heading for the child’s prison that’s for sure!! I can’t wait for book 2 (so happy that it won’t be an only book) It’s a great read for all and I will be recommending it to all my friends and telling them to be keeping an eye out for Ruth’s other book as I have a feeling she’s going to be a go to author for me and my friends! 

I give this book a very well deserved 5 thumbs up, please don’t leave us waiting too long for book 2 😀

5 thumbs

mini obc giveaway

 Proof copy of Prisoner of Ice and Snow

Blog-tour-graphic.png

Monday 4th September

Bookish Outsider

Hux Tales

Tuesday 5th September

YA Under My Skin

Book Lover Jo

Wednesday 6th September

PowisAmy

Kirstyes

Thursday 7th September

Library Girl and Book Boy

OBC Mini Reviewers

Friday 8th September

A Bookish Life Blog

Bart’s Bookshelf

Saturday 9th September

Tales of Yesterday

The Book Moo

Sunday 10th September

Rachel Bustin

The Bibliophile Chronicles

Monday 11th September

Minerva Reads

Golden Books Girl

Tuesday 12th September

Live Otherwise

Luna’s Little Library

Wednesday 13th September

An Awfully Big Adventure

Mum Friendly

Thursday 14th September

Emma’s Bookery

Miss Cleveland is Reading

Friday 15th September

Bibliobeth

A Little but a Lot

Saturday 16th September

With Love for Books

Get Kids into Books

Sunday 17th September

Linda’s Book Bag

Fantastic Book Dragon

Thank you to Bloomsbury for the advanced copy and to the lovely Faye for organising and including us on this fab book tour!

 

 

Spy Toys by Mark Powers.

So it would seem that the last week of the holidays is the perfect time for my children to get sick and pass it into everyone in the house, even though i have a million and one things to do….. this post being one for them!! So my heart felt apologies go out to Mark, the wonderful author of this very chuckle-some book and to Faye for organising this great book tour!!
So with me medicated up, a pile of tissues at my side, the kids in a daze on the sofa, let’s get this review live!

 

Out of Control Cover.png

Title: Spy Toys: Out of Control (Spy Toys #2)
Author: Mark Powers

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36035921-spy-toys

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0744RCYB9

mini obc about the book1

Toy Story meets James Bond in the second book in this incredible action-packed series!

Fresh from the success of their first mission, our heroes the Spy Toys – Dan the Snugaliffic Cuddlestar bear, Arabella the Loadsasmiles Sunshine Doll and Flax the custom-made police robot rabbit – are ready for their next task. This time, the secret code that controls every Snaztacular Ultrafun toy has been stolen and all over the world toys are revolting and turning against the children who own them.

Can Arabella disguise herself as a super-sweet little doll in order to find out more from the daughter of Snaztacular’s top scientist? Can Dan and Flax chase down Jade the Jigsaw, the puzzling prime suspect for the robbery? And can they save the day before the mind-controlled toys forget what it means to play nice?

mini obc about the author1

Author Mark Powers has been making up ridiculous stories since primary school and is slightly shocked to find that people now pay him to do it. As a child he always daydreamed that his teddy bear went off on top secret missions when he was at school, so a team of toys recruited as spies seemed a great idea for a story. He grew up in north Wales and now lives in Manchester. His favourite animals are the binturong, the aye-aye and the dodo. www.spytoysbooks.com

mark powers b&w.jpg

Website: www.spytoybooks.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mpowerswriter

mini obc amy

 

Mark Powers where have you been all my life?! Spy Toys: Out of Control has to be one of the funniest books I have read…… ever! This book is a super funny and quick read, I read it in one sitting. We jump right in with the evil Hog Wild and his prisoners over a fiery volcano, the brave Dan, Arabella and Flax come to the rescue crushing Hog Wilds plan but obviously that’s not the only bad guy in the book….. we have Jade the Jigsaw (you’ll never look at a jigsaw the same ever again!) Gemma who’s not exactly what she seems and….. well I won’t spoil the book for you.

I loved  Tim Wesson’s illustrations throughout the book, especially the surgical gown wearing chipmunks!! I felt this was a great addition to the book. I also thought the FREE Toy Spys game app (available on iTunes & Google Play Store) was a great fun addition to this book, it’s the first time I have seen anything like that 🙂 

So if you live a fun and gigle-sim read then Mark Power’s books are definitely for you. Make sure you check him out today!

5 thumbs