Review – Dougal Daley: It’s Not My Fault by Jackie Marchant

Dougal Daley

Title: Dougal Daley: It’s Not My Fault

Author: Jackie Marchant

Illustrator: Loretta Shauer

Release Date: 4th April 2017

Publisher: Wacky Bee Books

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35003254-dougal-daley

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dougal-Daley-its-Not-Fault/dp/0995697221

mini obc about the book1

I, Dougal Daley, am dead! Ok I’m not actually dead. But if I’m not careful I soon will be.

In this first book, football-loving Dougal Daley finds himself at risk from the mysterious creature living in the garden shed. Nobody believes him but as a precaution, he sets upon writing his will – rewarding those who help him and disinheriting those who get on his bad side. Meanwhile, as limbs and windows alike are broken by rogue footballs and unhinged canines, Dougal finds himself in all sorts of trouble. . .and NONE of it is his fault!

mini obc about the author1

Dougal Daley was inspired by a messy bedroom and a random question from my son about writing a will. Dougal Daley has been huge fun to write about – you wouldn’t believe the disasters that happen around him (none of which are his fault of course)! When I’m not writing I love doing school visits and creative writing workshops. I also take time away from the writing world looking after guide dogs while their owners are away.

jackiepic

Website: https://www.jackiemarchant.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JMarchantAuthor

55-075-32-02

I originally studied performing arts and have a degreein Dance Performance – well you never know whenyou need a quick pirouette! I also worked in practicalconservation for a long time, and spent many yearsbattling balsam, identifying lichen, and searching forcreepy crawlies before I picked up my pencils andpaints and began exploring illustrating and writingfor children. In 2011 I won the Waterstone’s ‘PictureThis’ competition and I now illlustrate full time.However I am still happiest noodling around forfossils and shells on the beach!

lorettapic

Website: http://lorettaschauer.tumblr.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Loretta_Schauer

mini obc amy2

This book, even though its not my usual kind of read had me in fits of laughter and really, how many kids write a will?! But i guess when a creature is after you you want to make sure your toys are going to the right people lol

In a typical boy style where nothing is ever his fault, Dougal is so over the top dramatic (like the boys in my class) i couldn’t help but laugh along with him. This book was fun to read and action packed from beginning to end

I loved the illustrations but then who doesn’t? It was like the doodles you see on comic books, there to add to the story as well as telling there own little one at the same time…… a picture can say a thousand words….. and these did 🙂

4 thumbs

Massive thanks to Wacky Bee Books for our copy of the book and to Faye Rogers for allowing us to partake in the tour…… once all our gremlins had been caught…. better late than never!!

Be sure to stop by Heather Reviews tomorrow!

Dougal Daley Banner1

Leave a Reply

