Review – The Adventures of the Owl and the Pussycat by Carol Rumble

owl & pussycat

Title: The Adventures of the Owl and the Pussycat
Author: Coral Rumble
Illustrator: Charlotte Cooke
Publisher: Wacky Bee Books – http://www.wackybeebooks.com
mini obc about the book1
“The Owl and the Pussycat went to sea
In a box on the living room floor.
They sailed away for a year and a day
And these are the things that they saw…”
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35051621-the-adventures-of-the-owl-and-the-pussycat
mini obc lily1
Oh to be a child again!
With their wild imaginations and sense of adventure anything is possible and this story really brings those days to life.
A fun read about two children and their homemade ship out on the wild seas of imagination, and what an imagination they both have!!
We loved this story, anything to do with animals is a BIG hit in our house and there are tons of them in this book. Lily-May enjoyed pointing out all the different ones she spotted, some even new to her, we had to make the noise to go along with which animal we spotted.
The illustrations are out of this world! No detail is left out, i especially like the Puffin page with his stamped passport…….he definitely gets around.
The wanted sign for naughty seagull made me giggle.
pixlr
This has to be one of the most stunning children’s books i have seen in a long time, both Carol and Charlotte should be proud of the end results and i hope to see many more books along the way……. definitely ones to watch!!
5 thumbs
mini obc about the author1
I have worked as a poet and performer for many
years and I’m proud to have my work featured in
Favourite Poets (Hodder). I have three published
poetry collections of my own and have
contributed to more than 150 anthologies. I am
also one of the writers of the popular Cbeebies
programmes ‘Poetry Pie’ and ‘The Rhyme
Rocket’. I have given workshops in some fairly
unusual venues as well…the grandest of which
being Buckingham Palace!
coralpic
Website: http://www.coralrumble.co.uk/
55-075-32-02
I was thrilled and proud when my picture book The Adventures of the
Owl & the Pussycat was highly commended for the Macmillan Children’s
Prize in 2010. Since then I have gone on to illustrate many other picture
books and I enjoy making the occasional card too. When I’m not in my
studio I’m usually outside running or playing referee to my two kids.
charlottepic
Make sure you check out all the blog stops on this adventurous tour!!
owl and pussycat banner4
Leave a Reply

